Skip to content

Workspace permissions ​

For operations tied only to the workspace, whether they're allowed is determined by the user's workspace role.

Operations ​

"Required permission" is the item and level shown under Permissions for a role. Workspace Owners have every permission. Users with a custom role can perform an operation when their role includes that permission. Operations marked "All members" can be performed regardless of the role's permissions. Operations marked "Workspace owners only" can't be performed with a custom role.

In the "Built-in role" column, "X or higher" means that role and any higher role can perform the operation. For the definition of the hierarchy, see Role hierarchy.

OperationCategoryRequired permissionBuilt-in role
Inviting and removing users / changing a user's role (except Workspace Owners)UsersMembers: ManageWorkspace Owner
Creating, editing, and deleting service accountsUsersMembers: ManageWorkspace Owner
Granting and revoking the Workspace Owner roleUsersWorkspace owners onlyWorkspace Owner
Inviting guests from reportsUsersGuest invitations: InviteWorkspace Editor or higher
Viewing sign-in methodsUsersWorkspace settings: EditWorkspace Owner
Switching to any service accountUsersWorkspace owners onlyWorkspace Owner
Viewing audit logsAudit logsAudit logs: ViewWorkspace Owner
Viewing Agent usageCodatum AIWorkspace settings: EditWorkspace Owner
Managing all AI profilesCodatum AIWorkspace owners onlyWorkspace Owner
Connecting Slack integrations / creating agent connectors / managing all external integrationsExternal integrationsExternal integrations: ManageWorkspace Owner
Viewing agent connector member connectionsExternal integrationsWorkspace settings: EditWorkspace Owner
Viewing information about the workspaceWorkspaceAll membersWorkspace Viewer or higher
Changing workspace settings (including security, AI settings, and PAT management; excluding policies, plan changes, and API keys)WorkspaceWorkspace settings: EditWorkspace Owner
Deleting the workspace / managing API keys / changing workspace policiesWorkspaceWorkspace owners onlyWorkspace Owner
Creating, editing, and deleting roles / changing guest invitations for EditorWorkspaceWorkspace owners onlyWorkspace Owner
Viewing information for all groupsGroupAll membersWorkspace Viewer or higher
Creating a group / managing all groupsGroupGroups: ManageWorkspace Owner
Creating a connectionConnectionCreate and manage connections: CreateWorkspace Editor or higher
Managing every connection whose access level is Workspace or ProtectedConnectionCreate and manage connections: ManageWorkspace Owner
Creating a teamspaceTeamspaceCreate and manage teamspaces: CreateWorkspace Editor or higher
Managing all teamspacesTeamspaceCreate and manage teamspaces: ManageWorkspace Owner
Creating and editing tag definitionsTagTag definitions: EditWorkspace Editor or higher
Creating a workflowWorkflowWorkflows: CreateWorkspace Editor or higher
Managing workflowsWorkflowWorkflows: ManageWorkspace Owner

Inviting guests from the report screen requires the Guest invitations permission in addition to the report permissions. You can remove the guest invitation permission from Workspace Editor (Changing guest invitations for Editor). For details, see Report permissions and Invitations and joining.

Whether you can manage billing or change the plan isn't determined by the workspace role. It's determined by whether you are an organization owner. For details, see Members and Workspace subscriptions.

Editing or deleting a group, and changing its members, can be done by users with the Groups manage permission as well as the Group Owner. For details, see Group.

For operations tied to resources such as connections, notebooks, and reports, see Permissions overview and the page for each resource.