Skip to content

Version

Version lets you save, restore, and compare the analysis state of a notebook. Select Version from the menu on the right side of the header in the notebook screen to show it in the right sidebar.

Parameter values and run results within a version are specific to each user and aren't synced to other users. Parameter changes can also be synced to the URL (see Specifying values from a URL).

Kinds of versions

KindDescription
ManualCreated manually by a user. Never overwritten automatically.
AutomaticCreated automatically when changes are made. Not created more often than roughly once per hour. Older automatic versions are deleted.
PublishedCreated when publishing a report, signed embed, or similar.
AI editCreated automatically before edits made by, for example, Agent mode in the AI agent (used for rollback).

Operations

From a version's menu, you can do the following.

OperationDescription
Restore this versionRestores the current notebook to the content of the selected version. Requires edit permission on the notebook.
Create new from versionCreates a new notebook from the selected version.
Compare with current notebookCompares the selected version with the current notebook.
Copy URLCopies the URL of a manual version.
DeleteDeletes a manual version.

Inline tables

Inline tables saved in a version are read-only. Restore this version restores the inline tables and references as of the save. Create new from version copies the inline tables and references as of the save into the new notebook.