---
url: 'https://docs.codatum.com/workspace/administration/user.md'
description: 'Members / guests, and workspace roles'
---

# Users

A user is an [account](../../account/overview#account-and-user) that belongs to a workspace. Users are classified as members or guests, and every user is assigned exactly one workspace role for each workspace they belong to.

You can manage users within a workspace from [global nav](../../guide/screen-layout) > **Workspace settings** > **Users**. For permissions by workspace role, see [Workspace permissions](../../permissions/workspace); for inviting users, see [Invitations and joining](./invite).

## Members and guests {#member-and-guest}

| Category {.nowrap} | Workspace roles included {.nowrap} | Summary |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Member | Workspace Owner, Workspace Editor, Workspace Viewer | Users who use the workspace's main features |
| Guest | Workspace Guest | Users who can only access limited resources, such as explicitly shared reports |

* **User** = member + guest (every account that belongs to the workspace)
* **Member** = user excluding guests

Guests can't belong to a group. Also, **Workspace settings** in the [global nav](../../guide/screen-layout) isn't shown to guests.

## Workspace roles {#workspace-roles}

Every user is always assigned exactly one workspace role.

| Role {.nowrap} | Summary |
| --- | --- |
| Workspace Owner | Has full administrative permissions for the workspace, including user management |
| Workspace Editor | Can create and edit content such as notebooks and connections. Can't invite users or change workspace settings |
| Workspace Viewer | Can view content but can't edit it |
| Workspace Guest | Can only view limited resources, such as shared reports |

For permissions by role, see [Permissions overview](../../permissions/overview) and [Workspace permissions](../../permissions/workspace).

## Deleting a user {#delete-user}

A Workspace Owner can remove a user from the workspace from the **Users** screen.

When removed, that user's [Private](../../permissions/resources/notebook#scope-private) folder (including the notebooks and folders within it) is deleted. Notebooks in other access scopes, such as the workspace or a teamspace, remain intact.
